December 5, 2022
Book Review | Star Wars: Aftermath

Liam takes a space detour to dissect Chuck Wendig’s Star Wars: Aftermath novelisation…

Aftermath is the first in Chuck Wendig’s Star Wars trilogy and takes place after the events of Return of the Jedi.  The story begins in Coruscant as people gather to pull down the statue of Emperor Palpatine, the man responsible for enslaving the galaxy who had recently been killed during the Battle of Endor.

Star Wars: Aftermath | by Chuck Wendig

Book Review | Star Wars: Aftermath

The Force Awakens is set 30 years after Return of the Jedi, which creates a huge time gap between the events of both films. The story focuses on Norra Wexley, a former Rebel pilot who has travelled back to her home on Akiva in an attempt to reunite with her son Temmin (Snap Wexley). Upon her arrival to the planet, Norra discovers that important members of the Empire have congregated on Akiva and finds herself on a mission to unearth their plans as well as locating Rebel Pilot Wedge Antilles who has been captured by Admiral Rae Sloane.

Book Review | Star Wars: Aftermath

The Imperial elite met on Akiva in order to rally their remaining forces in order to initiate a counterstrike on the Rebellion, but little do they know, Norra Wexley and her new-found allies are determined to put an end to the Empire’s plans once and for all.

Although the story doesn’t deal with characters already familiar from the original trilogy, the new additions will catch your attention from the beginning. Readers are introduced to Imperial defector Sinjir Rath Valus, who is on a personal mission to earn forgiveness for the crimes he committed under the Empire. There is also Jas Emari and Rae Sloane; Emari is a Zabrak bounty hunter, whereas Sloane is the Admiral in charge of the now fallen Empire, who is committed to achieving something Palpatine never intended, to make the Empire pure.

Book Review | Star Wars: Aftermath


In addition to these exciting new characters, there is also a new droid worth mentioning, by the name Mr Bones. Mr Bones was a heavily modified B1 battle droid with a murderous personality. The droid was built by Temmin Wexley and built from components scavenged from the catacombs beneath Myrra, the capital city of Akiva. Wendig does a splendid job of capturing the spirit of a Star Wars story, and his interludes between the story show readers glimpses from the Empire’s reign and how it affected the galaxy.

What Aftermath does really well is present both sides of the war, readers have moments featuring the Rebellion with Norra Wexley and Wedge Antilles, whereas, there is also coverage of Admiral Rae Sloane and the Empire with both the Rebellion and Empire encountering one another at the stories core.

Rae Sloane

Aftermath provides an insight into the beliefs, victories and struggles from all the characters and readers will be able to establish how much has changed since the Battle of Endor. This should be considered a must-read for Star Wars fans and with two other books following on from Aftermath readers are being given glimpses into the early days of the Resistance and First Order.

Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wendig is available to buy from Penguin Random House and all good bookstores now. © 2016 Lucasfilm Ltd.


The Future of the Force. The future of pop culture writing.


Feel the Force on Social Media.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: