BAFTA Fellowship Kathleen Kennedy

During her acceptance speech, Kennedy confirmed that a female director WILL helm a future Star Wars project for Lucasfilm

This past Sunday, the British Academy Film Awards honoured Lucasfilm Executive Producer Kathleen Kennedy with the BAFTA Fellowship, an honour given to a select few individuals.  During its existence, the award has been bestowed upon legends including Steven Spielberg in 1986, Sir Alec Guinness in 1989, Sean Connery in 1998 and Christopher Lee in 2011. The award was first presented to Alfred Hitchcock in 1971, and Kennedy is only the 24th American recipient of the award.

In an emotion-filled speech, MS Kennedy also spoke of diversity in movies and how she was determined to change it. This comes on the back of a statement she made before the event during an interview with BBC News Entertainment where she revealed that the next Star Wars film WILL have a female director. A welcome surprise and one that hopefully starts to address the imbalance in Hollywood.

As well as Kathleen Kennedy’s prestigious award, the Star Wars franchise was well represented with victories for Laura Dern who won Best Supporting Actress for Marriage Story, Taika Waititi who won Best Adapted Screenplay for Jojo Rabbit and Andy Serkis who was awarded the Outstanding British contribution to cinema.

We at The Future Of The Force send our congratulations to all the winners.


Missed the BAFTAS? never fear, check out Carl‘s full report here.


The Future of the Force. The future of pop culture writing.


Phil Roberts is the Owner, Daily Content Manager and Editor-In-Chief of Future of the Force. He is passionate about Star Wars, Batman, DC, Marvel, Star Trek, Indiana Jones, Ghostbusters, King Kong, and the Ray Harryhausen movies. Follow him on Twitter @philthecool where he uses the force and babbles frequently!


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube


Source: BAFTA



Feel the Force on Social Media.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: